As I’ve mentioned in a previous post, I have a separate section of my website which has categorized links for advanced and native English speakers.  However,  some of the links in those areas are indeed appropriate for high beginner or intermediate English Language Learners, too.  One of these days I’ll take time to reorganize them all!

Today, I’d like to highlight several categories on my Social Studies page.  I’ve used links in the African-Americans, Careers, Economics, and This Day in History categories successfully in my Social Studies classes for English Language Learners.

The African-Americans section has good links useful for U.S. History; Careers has some more involved links than the Jobs and Careers section on my English Themes for Beginners and Early Intermediate page;  you’ll find some engaging materials to help students think realistically about finances in Economics; and This Day in History is always good for students to investigate what happened on certain days (including their birthdays) in U.S. or World History.

This Social Studies page, though, should not be confused with my two Social Studies pages that only have links for English Language Learners —Geography and United States History,  and World History.