I’m adding two more sites to The Best Visually Engaging News Sites list:

* Newsmap Virtual Earth: One half of the screen shows images of a region of your choice while the other half shows quite a large selection of recent news articles about events taking place in that area.

* Interceder: I really don’t know how to explain this one, but it is interesting.

At some point during the school year I think I’m going to have my English Language Learner students compare the sites on The Best Visually Engaging News Sites list with the other web applications I think are more accessible on the The Best News/Current Events Websites For English Language Learners list. Then, using some kind of form, I’ll have them share which ones they think are more accessible to them, and which ones, if any, help create a desire to read more about the news.