I’ve included resources from the Enchanted Learning site in many of my “The Best…” lists. Many of their free materials are very accessible to English Language Learners.

Today I discovered that they have quite a collection of simple clozes (fill-in-the-gap) about nonfiction topics. They can’t be completed online at their site, but they can be printed-out or, as I do in my U.S. History class, have students copy and past them onto their blog.

To be honest, I wouldn’t say the clozes are as strategic in their location of “gaps” as I would like, but not many clozes I’ve found on the Web are, either. But they are decent materials that I don’t have to make, provide good vocabulary/reading reinforcement, and offer new expository information.

I don’t know if you can reasonably ask for more than that…