Sacramento Mayor Kevin Johnson and Washington, D.C. Schools Chancellor are apparently getting married, according to Education Week.

Ordinarily, I certainly wouldn’t be using space on this blog to talk about somebody getting married (well, I have to admit I might write a word or two if it’s one of my kids). However, when our mayor, who turned a public high school into a private charter; who is the midst of a campaign to change the city’s charter so that the mayor gains huge control over the city; and who I would bet is planning on trying for mayoral control of the schools at some point, is getting married to one of the most outspoken advocates of many initiatives that I think are not helpful to public schools and the teachers and students in them, I’ll make an exception.

I wonder what this news might mean for schools in Sacramento and in Washington, D.C.? Especially with Rhee’s recent troubles.