Languages smarten up your brain is the title of a column in the Guardian Weekly. It’s a summary of a report detailing research results that show learning a second language contributes to improved problem-solving and decision-making abilities, among other advantages. The full report can be found here.

Neither the summary nor the report itself is accessible to English Language Learners (in fact, I think both are written in unnecessarily complicated language). However, at some point I’m going to distill the key points into a short Read Aloud for my students. Even though most of my English Language Learner students are pretty motivated to learn English, helping them see some other advantages to doing it certainly can’t hurt.

I could also see this information being helpful to any second-language teacher.

Thanks to Michelle Henry for the tip.