I’ve written about how I’m having students in my classes trying visualizing success each day (see Results From Having ELL Students “Visualize Success”).

I just got around to tabulating assessment results in my mainstream ninth-grade English class. There was no difference at all in reading fluency assessments between the students who are doing the visualization and those who are not.

There was, however, a difference in the cloze assessments (fill-in-th-gap), which tend to reflect vocabulary development and reading comprehension. Those who are not practicing the visualization technique in class had an 8.4% increase in their cloze scores, while those who were doing it had a 10% increase. It’s not a huge difference, and it may be a correlation and not causal, but it’s clearly worth continuing.