I’ve written posts about the importance of students hearing teachers say “I’m sorry” when we mess-up. You can read them at:

More On Saying “I’m Sorry” To Students

The Importance Of Saying “I’m Sorry” To Students

I believe hearing an adult make a sincere apology to a student has an impact way beyond the person who was wronged. And an apology to an entire class is also sometimes appropriate.

Earlier this week I apologized to a student after I had questioned him about not turning into an assignment, which I later found in some papers on my desk.

His response:

“But teachers never apologize.”

He wasn’t trying to be serious or funny, and was just making an observation out of his personal experience.

It’s difficult for me to believe that it’s that uncommon. I’m sure my colleagues with whom I’m close do it. But it got me wondering: do you apologize to students, and what percentage of your colleagues do you believe do it?