Check-out the sequel to this book, titled Self-Driven Learning: Teaching Strategies for Student Motivation.

All Figures, Including Student Hand-outs, From My Two Student Motivation Books Are Now Freely Available For Download

ferlazzo12final_front (2)

Look for the sequel, “Self-Driven Learning: Teaching Strategies for Student Motivation,” in March, 2013!

You can now order the book. Just go to the book’s page on their website. The cost is $29.95.

You can also order it on Amazon.

(You can read the book’s introduction here)

You can read an excerpt from the first chapter here

Here’s the entire chapter from the book on qualities of a good lesson

Transcript Of My Ed Week Chat On Motivation Online

First Chapter of My Book, Hand-Outs & Links Are Now Online For Free

“Finishing the School Year Strong” is the title of another excerpt in Education Week/Teacher.

Recording Now Available Of “Helping Students Motivate Themselves” Interview

Nice Review Of My Book, “Helping Students Motivate Themselves”

Uh Oh, Harvard Goal Study Is An “Urban Legend”

Here’s My Chapter On Elements Of A Successful Lesson, Along With Student Hand-Outs THEY Use To Teach

Great Student Hand-Out On Learning & The Brain

Article On Learning & The Brain That’s Perfect For Tenth, Eleventh, & Twelfth Graders

Supporting School-Wide Social Emotional Learning

Goal-Setting Lesson Plan

Michael Jordan Story On Goal-Setting

I thought readers might be interested in seeing the cover, reading a description, and reviewing the Table of Contents (still in the process of being slightly revised) of my upcoming book, Helping Students Motivate Themselves: Practical Answers To Classroom Challenges.

The book will be officially published by Eye On Education on April 30th (though it might actually be in-stock prior to that date), and I will be links to how to order the book and to excerpts that will be published in various publications prior to that date.

Here’s a short description from the publisher:

Give your students the tools they need to motivate themselves with tips from award-winning educator Larry Ferlazzo. A comprehensive outline of common classroom challenges, this book presents research-based and immediately applicable steps and lesson plans for all middle and high school teachers looking to help their students motivate themselves. With coverage of brain-based learning, classroom management, and using technology, these strategies can be easily incorporated into any curriculum.

Learn to implement solutions to the following challenges:
-How do I motivate students?
-How do I help students see the importance of personal responsibility?
-How do I deal with a student who is being disruptive in class?
-How do I regain control of an out-of-control class?
-And more!

Blogger and educator Larry Ferlazzo has worked to combine literacy development with short and rigorous classroom lessons on topics such as self-control, personal responsibility, brain growth, and perseverance. He uses many “on-the-spot” interventions designed to engage students and connect with their personal interests.

Use these practical, research-based ideas to help your students become intrinsically motivated to learn!

CLASSROOM CULTURE

How do you motivate students?

How Can I Help Students See That It Is Important To Take Personal Responsibility And Not Blame Others for Their Mistakes?

How do you deal with a student who is being disruptive in class?

How Do You Regain Control Of An Out-Of-Control Class?

How Do You Help Students Look At Problems As Opportunities, And Not As Reasons To Just Feel Frustrated?

What Are Some Ways I Can Get The Beginning Of The Year Off To A Good Start?

What can I do to help keep my students – and me – focused at the end of the school year?

CLASSROOM INSTRUCTION

What are the best things I can do to maximize the chances of a lesson being successful?

How Can You Best Use A Few Minutes Of “Leftover” Time In Class?

What are some ways I can help my students develop higher–order thinking skills?

How Can I Incorporate Cooperative Learning in My Lessons?

What Are The Best And Easiest Ways To Use Technology With Students?

What Are Some Of The Best Ways To Use Learning Games In The Classroom?

Afterward

Save