Several good school reform pieces have appeared over the last couple of days (or they’re older and I’ve just discovered them). They include:

A List Of Education And Related Data Resources from The Shanker Blog. I’m adding it to The Best Places To Get Reliable, Valid, Accessible & Useful Education Data.

Here is a study demonstrating the benefits of class size reduction in eighth grade. I’m adding it to The Best Resources For Learning About How Class Size Does Matter.

The Folly of Merit Pay is by Alfie Kohn. I’m adding it to The Best Resources For Learning Why Teacher Merit Pay Is A Bad Idea.

Merit Pay Is Not Merited is by Walt Gardner at Ed Week. I’m adding it to “The Best…” list on merit pay, too.

Student Test Score Based Measures of Teacher Effectiveness Won’t Improve NJ Schools is an excellent article on the problems of Value Added Assessment. I’m adding it to The Best Resources For Learning About The “Value-Added” Approach Towards Teacher Evaluation.