'Norfolk Lavender - Children's Play Area - Slide' (c) 2011, Elliott Brown - license: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/

We’re all familiar with the “summer slide” — the academic losses that many young people, especially in low-income communities, experience during the time they’re out of school. “slide” is being exacerbated by budget cuts — a few years ago our school would have over one thousand students in summer school, most because they wanted advance faster and because they didn’t have anything else do. Now, we only offer less than a handful of classes.

I’ve previously explained that I encourage students read during the summer by research the effect of the summer slide, and arranging for their next year’s teacher give them extra credit for reading, as well as letting students check-out books from my classroom library.

However, I haven’t really done a thorough lesson the summer slide with them, as I’ve done in many other “life skills” topics I talk about in my book. Next year, though, will be different, and I’ll be preparing a complete lesson which I’ll in blog.

For now, though, I thought readers might find it useful for me some of the research sources summer reading loss that I’ll be using in my still–be-prepared lesson. Feel free offer additional suggestions.

Here they are:

Free books block ‘summer slide’ in low-income students from USA

Fun, sun and good books: UT experts say summer reading keeps skills strong

‘Summer Brain Drain’ Robs Some Students of Skills Gained During School Year from The Washington Post

How prevent summer reading loss is also from The Washington Post

Making Summer Count is from The Rand Corporation

How summer increases the achievement gap is from HechingerEd.

How I’m Helping My Students Try Avoid The “Summer Slide”

Part Two Of “How I’m Helping My Students Try Avoid The “Summer Slide””

Summer Loss is a nice, short summary of research summer learning loss.

Here Are The Eleven Sites I’m Using For My Summer School “Virtual Classroom”

Summer Slide, ELLs, and the Common Core is from Colorin Colorado

Summer Break and the Achievement Gap is from Ed Week.

Summer Learning: No Vacation From Opportunity Gap is from The Education Writers Association.

Is Summer Learning The Silver Bullet For Narrowing The Achievement Gap?

Quote Of The Day: Let Students Choose Their Own Books To Read Over The Summer

This infographic is from Oxford Learning:

ol-summerlearningloss-640w-final

NY Times Learning Network Announces Summer Reading Contest

Updated: Here Are The Sites I’m Using For My Summer School “Virtual Classroom”

Why we should let kids choose their own summer reading books is from The Washington Post.

Can We Prevent the “Summer Slide” in Reading? is by Timothy Shanahan.

 

Summer learning loss: What is it, and what can we do about it? is from Brookings.

Guest Post: Advanced ELLs Write About Their Summer School Experience Tutoring Newcomers

Summer Learning Gaps Worsen in Higher Grades, Just Not the Way You Think is from Ed Week.

NEW & REVISED: HERE ARE THE SITES I’M USING FOR MY SUMMER SCHOOL “VIRTUAL CLASSROOM”

How Does Summer Learning Really Affect Students’ Academic Achievement? is from Ed Week.

Rethinking summer slide: The more you gain, the more you lose is from Kappan Online.

Is Summer Learning Loss Real? is from Education Next.

Shaping Summertime Experiences is from The National Academies of Sciences.

Research evidence for summer learning is from The Hechinger Report.

Slim research evidence for summer school is from The Hechinger Report.

Nudging Kids Toward Reading This Summer is by Daniel Willingham.

The study linked to in this tweet basically suggests that ELLs suffer more from the “Summer Slide” than English-proficient students:

Is summer learning loss real, and does it widen test score gaps by family income? is from Brookings.

SUMMER LEARNING TOOLKIT is a great collection of research related to…summer learning. It’s from Annenberg.

School’s Out. Should You Worry About the ‘Summer Slide’? is from Scientific American.

STUDY FINDS SUMMER SCHOOL IS NO MAGIC BULLET

If you found post useful, you might want consider subscribing blog for free.

You might also want explore the over 600 other “The Best…” lists I’ve compiled.