(Usually, I just post a weekly version of this regular feature. However, sometimes I post an extra “Special Edition” when I have more good links than usual)

I have a huge backlog of resources that I’ve been planning to post about in this blog but, just because of time constraints, have not gotten around to doing. Instead of letting that backlog grow bigger, I regularly grab a few and list them here with a minimal description. It forces me to look through these older links, and help me organize them for my own use. I hope others will find them helpful, too. These are resources that I didn’t include in my “Best Tweets” feature because I had planned to post about them, or because I didn’t even get around to sending a tweet sharing them.

Here is a Special Edition of “Links I Should Have Posted About, But Didn’t”:

Adaptive Testing Evolves to Assess Common-Core Skills is from Education Week. I’m adding it to The Best Resources For Learning About The “Next Generation” Of State Testing.


Common Core Tech. Demands Raise Budget Worries
is from Education Week. I’m adding it to the same list.

Five Tips for New Teachers to Become Connected Educators is from Edutopia. I’m adding it to The Best Advice For New Teachers.

European Union: Key Moments is a slideshow from The PBS News Hour. I’m adding it to The Best Sites To Learn About The Nobel Peace Prize.

An Immigrant’s ‘Star-Spangled Banner,’ En Espanol is from NPR. I’m adding it to The Best Sites For Learning About The War Of 1812.

Resume Builder Online is a very simple tool to…create a resume. I’m adding it to The Best Places For Students To Write Their Resumes (By the way, I’ve just completely revised that list).

Metacognition and Student Learning is from The Chronicle on Higher Education. I’m adding it to The Best Posts On Metacognition.

A Brief History of American Labor is an interactive timeline from The American Prospect. I’m adding it to The Best Websites For Learning About Labor Day.

You Are Blind is a site designed to give the user the experience of having vision loss. It’s received a lot of praise, though I think it may be over-hyped a bit. Nevertheless, I’m adding it to The Best Sites For Walking In Someone Else’s Shoes.

History Of Education is an interactive timeline. It has a lot of info, though is definitely missing a lot, too. I’m adding it to The Best Resources To Learn About World Teachers Day. Thanks to Edudemic for the tip.

Wendi Pillars provides a nice step-by-step explanation about how to use the Picture Word Inductive Model with English Language Learners. I’m adding it to The Best Ways To Use Photos In Lessons.