(One of the links on this post was originally incorrect, but it’s been fixed now)

neurons
Photo Credit: Mike Seyfang via Compfight

One of the best lessons I teach each year I about the physical changes that learning new things makes in the change — it has a tremendous effect on students, and we refer back to it regularly during the year.

The complete lesson plan is in my book, Helping Students Motivate Themselves and I’ve previously posted a shorter version here.

One important part of the lesson is having students read a very accessible article by L.S. Blackweel on learning and the brain. It’s an excellent piece and I will continue using it.

Recently, though, I discovered another great piece by Judy Willis that’s equally accessible and available. It’s titled What You Should Know About Your Brain. Here it is in PDF form.

I’ll either have all students read both, or have half of the class read each one and then pair them up so they can teach each other.

I’m adding this info to The Best Resources For Showing Students That They Make Their Brain Stronger By Learning and I’m also adding it to a post where I have additional resources related to my book