puzzle

EDpuzzle is a new innovative site that lets you take just about any video off the web, edit it down to the portions you want, add audio notes and questions for students, and create virtual classrooms where you can monitor individual student work.

For free.

Though I’m not a big fan of the flipped classroom (see The Best Posts On The “Flipped Classroom” Idea), I would imagine the site might be an ideal tool for that strategy.

You can see a quick example I created here (unfortunately, the videos are not embeddable).

For my own classroom, I see it less useful as a creation vehicle for me, and potentially much more useful as a tool that students can use for creation.

For example, I think both my mainstream and English Language Learner students could watch a video and annotate them using the same kind of reading strategies they use with a “regular” text (ask questions, make connections, evaluate, etc.). Common Core talks about “multimodal texts” and videos, especially if they’re subtitled, would certainly fit into their category.

With English Language Learners, students could create their own questions that classmates could answer. I’ve previously posted about how I have students do that now with pen-and-paper.

I’m adding this info to:

A Potpourri Of The Best & Most Useful Video Sites

The Best Sites That Students Can Use Independently And Let Teachers Check On Progress

I learned about EDpuzzle through CristinaSkyBox, who also other good video sites in the same post.

Here’s a video of EDpuzzle’s founder explaining the site:

NEW ADDITION:

Here is a video playlist demonstrating how to use the site: