The ReThinking Man
Photo Credit: amira_a via Compfight

In yet another example of how much I do not know, I’ve recently learned about the Structure of the Observed Learning Outcome (SOLO), which can be characterized as an alternative to Bloom’s Taxonomy. I read about it this week at Peter DeWitt’s fine Education blog in his post, What’s Our Best Taxonomy? Bloom’s or SOLO?

I’ve spent a little time trying to understand it and, though I’m not persuaded a convincing case can be made that we need an alternative to Bloom’s, I thought it would be important to add information on it to The Best Resources For Helping Teachers Use Bloom’s Taxonomy In The Classroom, which continues to be the all-time most popular post on this blog and gets several hundred visits each day.

In addition to Peter’s post, here are some other useful SOLO resources:

I found this slide presentation at Ewan McIntosh’s blog, which also included several other helpful links:

Here’s a Prezi on it:

And here’s a link to an intriguing visual representation of it.

Let me know what you think of SOLO….