As regular readers know, in addition to teaching classes for English Language Learners, I also teach International Baccalaureate Theory of Knowledge courses.

One of the “Ways Of Knowing” in the class is Perception. Today, I did one of my regular lessons, and thought I’d bring all the videos together in one post for readers who might be interested (though the truth is that I wanted to put them all in one post so it will be easier for me to teach again).

I begin by having students number a sheet of paper one-to-six, with several lines for each number. I explain that we’re going to watch six short videos. After the first five videos students will be given a couple of minutes to answer this question:

What does this video have to do with perception, and what does it say about how perception can help or hinder our search for knowledge?

I explain that students will then share their response with the student next to them; I’ll then call on a couple of people to share; and then alternate rows will rotate so that students switch partners after each sharing.

Here are the videos I show:


ABC Breaking News | Latest News Videos

Pepsimax "Uncle Drew" from MinusL on Vimeo.

The Guardian commercial – Points Of View from Ariel Film on Vimeo.

Here’s more information on the Selective Attention Test video.

I end with this next video by asking students to “write down what happened in the picture” (which was the original prompt by researchers). After students watch the video, I ask how many told a story and then share parts of this analysis.

The lesson always goes well, though, as usual, I’m interested in hearing suggestions from readers on how to make it better….

Addendum:

Here’s drawing about what has happened in Ferguson, Missouri illustrating “how you frame the story will change the story.”

How Framing Affects Our Understanding is from Frank Baker.

“Don’t Judge Too Quickly” Is A Great Series Of Videos For TOK & ELL Students

Very Impressive NY Times Interactive: “Police Body Cameras: What Do You See?”