Last August, I posted about the Khan Academy’s entry into the world of teaching about a growth mindset (see Two Good Videos On How We Learn & How I Plan To Use Them In Class).

Today, they just emailed out a simple and decent lesson on the growth mindset that they developed with the organization PERTS (PERTS has developed excellent growth mindset resources).

But, really, the video Khan uses to teach the growth mindset and that they suggest you use in the lesson is pretty bad (it’s about learning and the brain). I just don’t understand why, with the resources they have, they can create something engaging (I’ve already written more than once about their awful history videos).

So, yes, use the lesson plan (I would just use the first one — I’m not a fan of their additional suggestions), but there are far better videos to use with it, and you can find many of them at The Best Resources For Showing Students That They Make Their Brain Stronger By Learning and at The Best Resources On Helping Our Students Develop A “Growth Mindset.”