Two years ago I began this regular feature where I share a few posts and resources from around the Web related to ESL/EFL or to language in general that have caught my attention (usually I just publish this feature once each week, but this is a special second post since I have so many resources to share):

7 Ways to Scaffold Instruction for English Language Learners is from Teach Learn Grow.

Using Silent Video In The ELT Classroom is from EFL Classroom 2.0. I’m adding it to The Best Popular Movies/TV Shows For ESL/EFL (& How To Use Them).

Your 10 favourite dance scenes is a great video collection from The BBC. Students could watch and describe what they see. I’m adding it to the same list.

WaitChatter Helps You Learn A New Language While You Wait For IM Replies

Advocates Sue a New York School District, Claiming Weak Programs for Refugees is from The New York Times.

Cutting to the Common Core: Mathematically Speaking is from Language Magazine. I’m adding it to The Best Resources For Teaching Common Core Math To English Language Learners.

Genres in writing: A new path to English language learning is from Eureka Alert.

Developing Speaking Skills in the Classroom is by Anthony Ash. I’m adding it to The Best Sites To Practice Speaking English.

Speechyard is a new video site designed to teach English. Basically, you get to watch lengthy videos with subtitles and click on words you want to study. The site then saves those words and you can practice them in a number of ways. That is, if you pay for the premium version, you can practice in several ways. If you use the free version, you can practice it in simple spelling form. I don’t think I’ll be using it with my students, since the lengthy videos are engaging TV shows and I’m not very confident that all would maximize the language-learning opportunity created by watching them and identifying new words. However, I could see motivated adults finding it to be useful (By they way, when I clicked on the link right before I published this post, the site was off-line. I assume it’s only a minor problem and is will be working by the time you read this). Here’s a video about the site:

Thanks to InterCom for the tip.