knowme

The free iPhone app KnowMe was released today, and I know that, starting tomorrow, it will become the iPhone app I will find most useful in my classroom.

You can combine photos from your phone with live video (f you want), easily add narration, and voila, you have an audio narrated presentation. You just hold down on the photo with a finger and talk.

Here’s a simple one I made using classroom photos, which I then emailed to myself.

It doesn’t have an embedding function, and doesn’t yet offer an immediate sharing to YouTube. However, with YouTube’s terrible Safety mode (see The Best Ways To Deal With YouTube’s Awful Safety Mode), I’m not sure how many of us educators are really uploading videos to YouTube these days anyway — most are just going to be blocked by their insane algorithm.

Shadow Puppet has been my favorite app up to know to let students provide audio narration of images, and I didn’t think it could get much easier than that, but KnowMe has proven me wrong.

You can read more about it at TechCrunch.

I’m adding it to several “Best” lists, including:

The Best Sites To Practice Speaking English

The Best Ways To Use Photos In Lessons

The Best Sites For Beginning iPhone Users Like Me

Here’s a video about the app:

Intro to KnowMe With Nev Schulman from KnowMe on Vimeo.