webbywebby

Nominees for the twentieth annual were announced this morning (go here and click on “view all categories to see them). I think you have to kiss a lot of pigs before you find the princes, but there are a few excellent learning resources there that I haven’t already shared.

Here they are:

Ice and Sky is an interactive describing the history of climate change. It’s a good complement to A Journey Through Climate History, a site I’ve previously shared.  I’m adding it to The Best Sites To Learn About Climate Change.

Google Feud and PhotoBomber would be fun games to play with English Language Learners.  In the first one, which is a Webby nominee, you’re given a phrase and have to guess the ten most likely words to complete it in a Google search.  The downside, however, is that it’s possible you might end up with something inappropriate.  The second one is a sister site, though did not actually receive a nomination.  It would work for advanced ELLs – you’re given a combination of pictures and words and have to guess the common expression it represents.

Apollo 17 is a multimedia interactive letting you experience – in real time – that moon-landing mission.

Mawahtale is an interactive on Ebola.  I’m adding it to The Best Resources For Learning About The Ebola Virus.

The Studio from Giphy lets you easily create GIFs and animated slideshows. I’m adding it to The Best Resources On GIFs — Please Contribute More, which I just updated.

Check out the nominees and let me know if you think I missed any!