brainpop

I’ve been a longtime fan of Brainpop’s Social Studies animations, and often use them in my ELL U.S. & World History classes. I pay for the $220 yearly “classroom” subscription” (which lets you log-in at only three devices at the same time) out of my own pocket.

Brainpop also has an ESL program, which costs $130 annually with the same number of log-on limitations. I don’t subscribe to that because I think there are plenty of free resources of equal or better quality.

They’ve just added the ability for teachers to track student progress to the ESL program (they call it My Brainpop), but only with a school or district subscription, and that’s pretty pricey – $600. They offer that same ability if you have a school or district subscription to their regular program, which is far more expensive. This is a great feature to have. It’s just unfortunate that their prices are so high.

Nevertheless, with the addition of this new feature, I’m adding it to The Best Sites That Students Can Use Independently And Let Teachers Check On Progress.