Two years ago, in another somewhat futile attempt to reduce the backlog of resources I want to share, I began this occasional “Ed Tech Digest” post where I share three or four links I think are particularly useful and related to…ed tech:

What a Decade of Education Research Tells Us About Technology in the Hands of Underserved Students is from EdSurge. I’m adding it to The Best Advice On Using Education Technology.

Why smart kids shouldn’t use laptops in class is a Washington Post report on a recent study that I’ve previously discussed. I’m adding it to the same list where you can find those earlier posts – The Best Research Available On The Use Of Technology In Schools.

Robo-reader redux: Can a curious computer improve student writing? is from The Hechinger Report. I’m adding it to The Best Posts On Computer-Graded Essays. This article has a somewhat different take on the issue than others on that list, and it’s worth considering.

Lower income families less likely to use online learning tools is a Eureka Alert summary of a new study.

Using computers widens the achievement gap in writing, a federal study finds is from The Hechinger Report. I’m adding it to The Best Posts On Writing Instruction. After reading it, you might want to explore what I consider to be the three best tools for teaching keyboarding:

My students like Dance Mat Typing because it teaching typing with text and audio support.

Typing Web is a great site for learners. You have to register for the site and it tracks your progress.

AlfaTyping looks like a nice tool for students to develop typing skills, and you can read all about it at Richard Byrne’s post.