Each week, I publish a post containing three or four particularly useful resources on classroom instruction, and you can see them all here.

You might also be interested in The Best Articles (And Blog Posts) Offering Practical Advice & Resources To Teachers In 2015 – So Far and The Best Resources On Class Instruction of 2016 – So Far.

Here are this week’s picks:

Independent Reading: A Research Based Defense is from Russ on Reading, and provides a lot of “ammunition” for those of us who advocate for students reading books of their choice. It’s an excellent response to what I would characterize as a recent misguided critique of the practice by Tim Shanahan, who I think is usually on target (I’ve written positively about much of his work).  I’m adding it to The Best Resources Documenting The Effectiveness of Free Voluntary Reading.

Fluency Instruction: Building Bridges from Decoding to Comprehension is another useful post from Russ on Reading. I’m adding it to The Best Resources On Reading Fluency (Including How To Measure It).

Do Teachers Remain Neutral or Share their Beliefs with Students? is by Rick Wormeli. I’m adding it to The Best Posts & Articles On How To Teach “Controversial” Topics.  By the way, dealing with “controversial” topics will be the subject of a multi-part Ed Week series I’ll be posting next week.

3 Strategies to Fire Up Hesitant Writers is from Edutopia. I’m adding it to The Best Posts On Writing Instruction. Thanks to Shanna Peeples for the tip.

If you want to rig an election… is a timely interactive from The Washington Post – given Donald Trump’s constant talk of it. I’m adding it to The Best Sites To Learn About The 2016 U.S. Presidential Elections.

The trouble with transfer: How can we make learning more flexible? is from The Learning Spy. I’m adding it to The Best Resources For Learning About The Concept Of “Transfer” — Help Me Find More.

I’m adding this next tweet to the previously-mentioned “Best” list on writing instruction: