We’ve spent the last two weeks in my English Language Learner Beginners class reading and learning about stories.

Last Friday, it was time for them to begin writing one, and I did a terrible job of getting them started. I think I was tired and wasn’t thinking clearly, and assumed too much and provided must less support than was needed.

So, over the weekend, I created a simple set of eight graphic organizers, plus borrowed two others from online, and we began again today. Needless to say, it went a lot better.

You can download the eight I created here. They are in the sequence I’m using them.

You can download the Conflict Graphic Organizer that I’m using here. Students use this as the sheet listed “Conflict” in my downloadables.

You can download the Plot Diagram Graphic Organizer that I’m using here. Students use this as the sheet listed as “Diagram Your Events” in my downloadables.

I don’t think you’ll find anything earthshaking in them, but they are workable. Let me know how you think I can make them better.

I’m adding this post to The Best Sites For Learning To Write A Story.