Four years ago I began this regular feature where I share a few posts and resources from around the Web related to ESL/EFL or to language in general that have caught my attention.

You might also be interested in The Best Resources, Articles & Blog Posts For Teachers Of ELLs In 2016 – Part Two and The Best Resources, Articles & Blog Posts For Teachers Of ELLs In 2017 – So Far.

Here are this week’s choices:

Can I Still Rely on the National Reading Panel Report? is an excellent post from literacy expert Timothy Shanahan. I certainly still rely on it, and it was great to read that follow-up studies have found that its recommendations work for English Language Learners, too. I’m adding it to The Best Posts On Reading Strategies & Comprehension – Help Me Find More!

Quick, Draw!: an adaptation for world language classes is a nice post about using Quick Draw With Google as a language-learning tool. Thanks to CASLS for the tip.

Back-to-School Reading for English-Language-Learner Teachers is from Ed Week.

CREATING A CLASSROOM CULTURE OF CONVERSATION: THE FIRST TWO WEEKS is from Karen Lewis.

Tan Huynh shares useful materials here:

Here are some good videos to show to ELLs and then have them talk and write about what they saw:

I’m adding that last one to The Best Video Clips Of Sneaky Critters — Help Me Find More.