A few days ago, in anticipation of Semester Finals next week, I shared The Best Videos For Learning Why It’s Important To Study Geography.

In addition to videos, it included a description, other links, and a prompt I’m going to use for my ELL Geography Final.

In looking over previous Finals I’ve done for my ELL History classes, I realized they contained some dead links, so I thought it would be worth preparing a new similar list for those classes.

For them, I’m expecting to share the materials from these two sites:

7 REASONS WHY IT IS IMPORTANT TO STUDY HISTORY …

Top 10 Reasons to Study History

Then, have students watch one or more of the videos on this list.

Next, they’ll respond to this writing prompt:

Watch the videos, and read the two lists. In your own words, please share some (at least three) of the reasons they say it’s important to study history. To what extent do you agree with what they are saying? To support your opinion, be sure to include specific examples drawn from your own experience, your observations of others, or any of your readings.

Feedback is welcome!

New Crash Course Video: “What History Was, Is, and Will Be”

Three Great New Videos From “Facing History” About Why We Need To Learn About History