Five years ago I began this regular feature where I share a few posts and resources from around the Web related to ESL/EFL or to language in general that have caught my attention.

You might also be interested in The Best Resources, Articles & Blog Posts For Teachers Of ELLs In 2017 – So Far. and The Best Resources, Articles & Blog Posts For Teachers Of ELLs In 2017 – Part Two. Also, check out A Collection Of My Best Resources On Teaching English Language Learners.

In addition, look for our next book on teaching ELLs, which will be published in the Spring of 2018.

Here are this week’s choices:

I just revised and updated The Best Places To Create Funny Subtitles For Silent Movies.

Caption Bot is a cool tool from Microsoft. You either upload an image or input its url, and its artificial intelligence software will provide a simple…caption. It seems pretty accurate and, more importantly if one is thinking about it as a language-learning tool, the captions are very simple. I’m wondering if this could be a cool self-learning tool for ELLs – they take images they find interesting on the web, try to write their own captions for them, and then make a comparison to what the Bot says?  I’m adding it to The Best Online Tools For Using Photos In Lessons.

How to Teach English to Beginners Using Art is from Think English. I’m adding it to The Best Resources For Using Art As A Way To Teach & Learn English – Help Me Find More.

Voice Tube looks sort of like a not-as-sophisticated English Central, though I don’t mean that as an insult.  It has a limited collection of videos, but seems to have several, though not all, of the features at English Central.  Nik Peachey writes about it here. It’s web-based, but also has phone apps, so I’m adding it to The Best Mobile Apps For English Language Learners.

Can Summer School Help English Learner Students Succeed? is from Ed Week.

What My ESL students from “sh-thole” countries taught me about being a good American is from Quartz. You might also be interested in What Message Does It Send To Our Students When President Of U.S. Calls African Countries & Haiti “Sh_tholes”?