Five years ago I began this regular feature where I share a few posts and resources from around the Web related to ESL/EFL or to language in general that have caught my attention.

You might also be interested in The Best Resources, Articles & Blog Posts For Teachers Of ELLs In 2018 – So Far and The Best Resources, Articles & Blog Posts For Teachers Of ELLs In 2017 – Part Two. Also, check out A Collection Of My Best Resources On Teaching English Language Learners.

In addition, look for our new book on teaching ELLs, which was published in the Spring of 2018.

Here are this week’s choices:

Beginning the Year with English Learners in Mind is from Valentina Gonzalez.

What the Research Says on Instruction for English Learners Across Subject Areas is from Education Northwest. I’m adding it to The Best Sites For Learning Strategies To Teach ELL’s In Content Classes.

‘I Feel Happy to Enter Classes Again’: One Migrant Teen’s Perilous Journey From El Salvador to High School in the U.S. is from The 74.

This Teaching Clock could be helpful to educators teaching about time. I’m adding it to The Best Sites For Learning How To Tell Time.

Google Tools for English Language Learners is from Eric Curts.

My First Week of Co-Teaching is by Justin Garcia. I’m adding it to The Best Resources On Co-Teaching With ELLs – Please Suggest More.

I’m adding this next tweet to the same list:

New Report – Masking the Focus on English Learners: The Consequences of California’s Accountability System’s Dashboard on Year 4 Local Control and Accountability Plans (LCAPs) is from Californians Together.

Change the way you teach STEM classes! is from WIDA. I’m adding it to The Best Resources For Teaching Common Core Math To English Language Learners and to The Best Resources For Teaching The Next Generation Science Standards To English Language Learners.

15 TIPS FOR IMPROVING IDENTIFICATION OF GIFTED EL STUDENTS is from the National Center for Research on Gifted Education.

I’m adding this video to The Best Video Clips Of Sneaky Critters — Help Me Find More (students can write and talk about what they saw):

Here’s another great video to show students and have them also write and discuss it: