Wokandapix / Pixabay

How to Provide Help is a new article from Harvard’s Usable Knowledge.

I really like how it provides a simple frame for differentiated instruction with three categories:

 

Supports help learners practice the whole task in a simpler way.

Scaffolds help students develop one specific skill or part of a task without worrying about all the components.

Extensions push students beyond the task at hand and deepen their learning.

 

I might come up with different ways to describe each of those three categories, and different examples than the ones described in the article, but I think that framing is fantastic!

The article also refers to a website that I think the author (Rhonda Bondie) of that framing has which appears to have some useful resources, though you have to dig around a bit to find them.

I’m adding this info to:

The Best Resources On Providing Scaffolds To Students

The Best Resources On Differentiating Instruction