16487928682-1fff

 

This blog has gotten many new readers over the past year. Because of that, I thought it might be worth sharing a daily “A Look Back” where I share a best post from the past twelve years. You can also see all of my choices for “Best” posts here.

I originally shared this post in 2011.

In 2011, I posted The Best Videos Illustrating Qualities Of A Successful Language Learner.

In it, I listed the qualities that researchers have found most important in…successful language learners, and included short videos illustrating each one. I use them in lessons that can be found in my books on teaching English Language Learners.

Here are the qualities, along with an example of a video on the list demonstrating perseverance:

An appetite for learning, perseverance

Being willing to take risks

Being willing to make mistakes and learn from them

Wants to help and teach others

We all need to be like Gus in this video: