Here’s another mid-year“Best” list…

I’m adding this post to All Mid-Year “Best Of 2019” Lists In One Place!

Six years ago I began publishing a regular Classroom Instruction Resources Of The Week post.  You can see all my “Best” lists on instructional strategies here.

Here are my choices from the past few months:

Brain – Book – Buddy: A Strategy for Assessment is from The Effortful Educator. I’m adding it to The Best Resources For Learning About Effective Student & Teacher Assessments.

How to Map a Controversy appears at ASCD. I’m adding it to The Best Posts & Articles On How To Teach “Controversial” Topics.

Clarifying Transfer: The Ultimate Goal of Learning appears in Corwin Connect. I’m adding it to The Best Resources For Learning About The Concept Of “Transfer” — Help Me Find More.

Facing History has a good guide for using Current Events in the classroom.  It’s free, but you have to give them your email address to get.  I’m adding it to The Best Resources & Ideas For Teaching About Current Events.

Deliberate Practice is a post from Learning For Memory. It offers some useful suggestions for writing in social studies classes. I’m adding it to The Best Resources For Writing In Social Studies Classes.

10 Techniques for Retrieval Practice is from Tom Sherrington. I’m adding it to The Best Resources For Learning About Retrieval Practice.

Making Connections: 53 Teenagers Suggest Creative Ways to Link School Curriculum to the World of 2019 is from The NY Times Learning Network. I’m adding it to The Best Ideas For Helping Students Connect Lessons To Their Interests & The World.

“BECAUSE, BUT, SO” GOES 2.0 WITH DIRECT QUOTATIONS is from Doug Lemov. I’m adding it to Best Posts On Writing Instruction.

Who Can Teachers Trust? The Search for High Quality Curriculum is a new article from The Teaching Channel about a free online curriculum for multiple subjects from Match Fishtank.

Experimenting with Math Testing in Groups is from Middleweb.  I’m adding it to A Collection Of “The Best” Lists On Assessment.

When Am I Ever Going to Use This? is from Edutopia. I’m adding it to The Best Ideas For Helping Students Connect Lessons To Their Interests & The World.

Research Spotlight: Dr. Douglas Fisher on Close Reading is from McGraw Hill. I’m adding it to The Best Resources On “Close Reading” — Help Me Find More.

Let’s Give Our Teaching Language a Makeover is from Cult of Pedagogy.

Well-Designed ‘Do Nows’ Set the Pace for Learning appeared in Middleweb. I’m adding it to The Best Resources For “Do Now” Activities To Begin A Class.

Mr. Barton Maths is a pretty impressive site.  I’m adding it to The Best Apps, Online Tools & Other Resources For Math.

Grading Smarter, Not Harder shares interesting thoughts on assessment in history classes. I’m adding it to The Best Resources On Grading Practices.

Data Nuggests are a series of science lesson plans that “co-designed by scientists and teachers. When using Data Nuggets students are provided with the details of authentic science research projects, and then get to work through an activity that gives them practice looking for patterns and developing explanations about natural phenomena using the scientific data from the study.”

Writing in Science: Guest post by Hochman and Wexler is from Bunsen Blue. I’m adding it to The Best Resources For Writing In Science Class.

Our 2nd Annual Connections Contest: Link Something You’re Studying in School With the World Today is from The New York Times Learning Network. You might also be interested in The Best Ideas For Helping Students Connect Lessons To Their Interests & The World.

The Past Is Present: Strategies for Bringing Current Events Into the Social Studies Classroom is from The NY Times Learning Network. I’m adding it to The Best Resources & Ideas For Teaching About Current Events.

Stanford provides a free science curriculum called SCALE.

“The Danger of a Single Story” in Mathematics is from Scientific American. I’m adding it to The Best Resources On “The Danger Of A Single Story”