'magnifying glass' photo (c) 2005, Tall Chris - license: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/

I often write about research studies from various fields and how they can be applied to the classroom. I write individual posts about ones that I think are especially significant, and will continue to do so. However, so many studies are published that it’s hard to keep up. So I’ve started writing a “round-up” of some of them each week or every other week as a regular feature.

By the way, you might also be interested in MY BEST POSTS ON NEW RESEARCH STUDIES IN 2018 – PART TWO and MY BEST POSTS ON NEW RESEARCH STUDIES IN 2019 – PART ONE

You can see all my “Best” lists related to education research here.

Here are some new useful studies (and related resources)

Did One Program Really Cost Students 276 Years of Learning? (Spoiler: No.) is from Ed Week. I’m adding it to The Best Resources For Understanding How To Interpret Education Research.

Correlation is Not Causation and Other Boring but Important Cautions for Interpreting Education Research is by Cara Jackson. I’m adding it to the same list.

Harvard Suspends Roland Fryer, Star Economist, After Sexual Harassment Claims is from The NY Times. I’ve previously posted about his work, including at Won’t Researcher Roland Fryer Ever Give Up On Trying To Prove Extrinsic Motivation Works Better Than The Intrinsic Kind?

Problematic smartphone use linked to poorer grades, alcohol misuse, more sexual partners is from Science Daily. I’m adding it to The Best Posts On Student Cellphone Use In Class — Please Contribute More.,

The High Price of Multitasking is by Daniel Willingham. I’m adding it to The Best Resources On The Dangers Of Multitasking.

Ever Failed, Try Again, Succeed Better: Results from a Randomized Educational Intervention on Grit is pretty interesting. I’ts behind a paywall, but there other ways to access it (see The Best Tools For Academic Research).  I’m adding it to The Best Resources For Learning About “Grit”

Modeling Partial Knowledge on Multiple‐Choice Items Using Elimination Testing is a new study I’m adding to The Best Ways To Use Multiple Choice Exercises.