Here’s another end-of-year“Best” list…

I’m adding this post to All My 2019 “Best” Lists In One Place!

Six years ago I began publishing a regular Classroom Instruction Resources Of The Week post.  You can see all my “Best” lists on instructional strategies here.

Here are my choices from the past few months:

How Might You Launch a Lesson? is from the Desmos blog. It’s focused on math, which is why I’m adding it to The Best Apps, Online Tools & Other Resources For Math, but it’s valuable enough for all teachers to read.

Five Things Every Teacher Should Know about Vocabulary Instruction is by Timothy Shanahan. I’m adding it to The Best Sites Where ELL’s Can Learn Vocabulary.

How Collaboration Unlocks Learning and Lessens Student Isolation is from MindShift. I’m adding it to The Best Sites For Cooperative Learning Ideas.

The Power of Short Writing Assignments comes via Edutopia. I’m adding it to Best Posts On Writing Instruction.

Looking for Graphs to Use in the Classroom? Here Are 34 is from The New York Times Learning Network. I’m adding it to The Best Multimedia Resources For Introducing Students To The Advantages Of Charts, Graphs & Infographics.

How Not to Go Crazy Reading Rough Drafts is by Sarah Cooper at Middleweb. I’m adding it to Best Posts On Writing Instruction.

OpenSciEd unveiled free materials to teach to the Next Generation Science Standards. Learn more about it at Ed Source’s article, Nationwide project provides free science materials to meet California’s new standards.

Using Scientific Pedagogy to Teach History is from Edutopia.

8 Proactive Classroom Management Tips is from Edutopia. I’m adding it to Best Posts On Classroom Management.

Note to Self: Don’t Fear Structured Writing Prompts comes via The National Writing Project. I’m adding it to The Best Scaffolded Writing Frames For Students.

Talking and Teaching about Walls and Borders is from Re-Imagining Migration. I’m adding it to The Best Sites To Learn About Walls That Separate Us.

How to Teach Summarizing, Part II is by Timothy Shanahan. You might also be interested in I’ve Found These Decent Online Exercises To Teach Paraphrasing – Can You Suggest More?

Social Annotation in the Digital Age appeared in Edutopia. I’m adding it to The Best Applications For Annotating Websites.

Teaching the Research Process Through Podcasting is from Edutopia. I’m adding it to Best Posts On Writing Instruction.

How to Teach Summarizing, Part I is by Timothy Shanahan.

Ten Faulty Notions About Teaching and Learning That Hinder the Effectiveness of Special Education is from The Journal of Special Education. Thanks to Jennifer Binis for the tip.

How to Promote Critical Thinking with Socratic Seminars is from Kids Discover. I’m adding it to The Best Resources Sharing The Best Practices For Fruitful Classroom Discussions.

The Washoe County School District has a nice list of instructional strategies. I’m adding it to The Best Collections Of Instructional Strategies.

Best Practices for Designing Accessible Performance Assessments is from The Learning Policy Institute. I’m adding it to The Best Resources For Learning About Performance Assessment.

Grades Versus Comments: What Does the Research Really Tell Us? is from Ed Week. I’m adding it to The Best Resources On Grading Practices.

‘Peer instruction’ makes students more active learners is from The Hechinger Report. I’m adding it to both The Best Posts On Helping Students Teach Their Classmates — Help Me Find More and to The Best Posts On Curiosity.

Over 140 Picture Prompts to Inspire Student Writing is from The NY Times Learning Network. I’m adding it to Best Posts On Writing Instruction.

6 dos and don’ts for next-level slides, from a TED presentation expert is from TED Talks. I’m adding it to The Best Resources For Teaching Students The Differences Between A Good & Bad Slide.