Time for another end-of-year “Best” list!

I’ll be adding this list to I’m adding this post to All My 2019 “Best” Lists In One Place!

I publish a regular series called SEL Weekly Update, and I thought it would useful to readers and to me to review them and highlight the ones I think are the best of the year.

You might also be interested in “Best” Lists Of The Week: Social Emotional Learning Resources. All my “Best” lists related to SEL, including previous editions of this Best list, can be found there.

Here are my choices from the past six months:

Why Intentionally Building Empathy Is More Important Now Than Ever is from MindShift. I’m adding it to The Best Resources On Helping To Build Empathy In The Classroom – Help Me Find More.

We Shouldn’t “Empower” Students – Instead We Should Create The Conditions Where They Can Take It

Awhile back, a Swedish TV show on education interviewed me via Skype about student motivation. The show just came out, and they included what I think is a relatively decent three minute clip of me talking about student motivation and growth mindset. I’ve linked directly to that short clip here (they don’t allow embedding). You might, or might not, find it useful. I’m adding it to a list of other interviews I’ve done.

Improving Social and Emotional Learning in Primary Schools is from The Education Endowment Foundation. I’m adding it to The Best Summaries/Reviews Of Research On Social Emotional Learning – Let Me Know What I’ve Missed.

Why employee rewards are frequently ineffective and potentially counterproductive is from Quartz. I’m adding it to Best Posts On “Motivating” Students.

Positive Childhood Experiences May Buffer Against Health Effects Of Adverse Ones is from MindShift.

Your Performance Goes Up When You Do This 1 Odd Thing, Study Finds is an article (with a strange headline) in Inc about a study I’ve previously posted about finding that the performance of mentors improves, as well as the work of mentees. The reason I’m sharing this particular article is because it highlights that the study’s authors think that one reason for this improvement is an increased sense of power and influence – in other words, agency. My other posts on this study are: Another Study Finds That Student Mentors Giving Advice Helps THEM Do Better and Being A Mentor At Our School May Have Resulted In Improved Grades For The…Mentors. Here’s a related one: Here’s An Opportunity For Students To Write For An Authentic Audience: Give Advice To Their Younger Selves. I’m adding this info to The Best Resources On Student Agency & How To Encourage It.

The Best Resources On Learning How To Improve Our “Luck”

One Key to Reducing School Suspension: A Little Respect is from Ed Week. I’m adding it to The Best Resources For Learning About Restorative Practices – Help Me Find More.

This Is Probably The Best & Most Accessible Review Of Growth Mindset Research That You’re Going To Find

“If You Want Engaged Employees [or Students], Offer Them Stability”

The Best Resources For Learning How To Promote A Sense Of “Belonging” At School

Very Interesting Video: “How To Stay Motivated – The Locus Rule”

Results Of Biggest Mindset Study Finds Positive Impact