This is another end-of-year “Best” lists.

I’m adding this  list to ALL MY 2019 “BEST” LISTS IN ONE PLACE!

You can find previous editions of this list, along with all “Best” lists related to ELL instruction, here.

Here are my choices:

To start off, you want to follow all these folks on Twitter and, if you’re not on Twitter, go to their Twitter page and then click on links to their blogs. They share incredible resources:

Charlala is an exceptionally creative use of tech to create a language-learning game. You can read a review of it here, and I’ve embeded one of their explanatory videos below. As creative as it is, though, it seems to me its ideas can be applied just as easily to a classroom game with students having mini-whiteboards and the teacher having a doc cam. However, I can also see the added “coolness” factor of using tech for students, and I also am open to being told I’m missing something. I’m still adding it to The Best Websites For Creating Online Learning Games.

Carol Salva’s blog is filled with tons of great posts and a podcast for teachers of ELLs.

I really like the speaking strategy shared in this new video from Edutopia. It’s a nice modification of the Three Two One speaking activity. I’m adding it to The Best Sites To Practice Speaking English.

How We Can Fairly Assess English Learners is by Valentina Gonzalez. I’m adding it to The Best Resources On “Differentiated Grading” For English Language Learners.

How to Use ‘Gaps’ in Communicative Activities is from The Barefoot TEFL Teacher. I’m adding it to The Best Online Resources For “Information Gap” Activities.

25 ideas for using unit word lists in the classroom is from Oxford University Press. I’m adding it to The Best Sites Where ELL’s Can Learn Vocabulary.

Reading in Any Language Improves Reading Levels in English is from Language Magazine. I’m adding it to The Best Resources Explaining Why We Need To Support The Home Language Of ELLs.

10 real-world project examples for PBLL [Project Based Language Learning] is an interesting post from Musicuentos. I’m adding it to The Best Sites For Cooperative Learning Ideas.

Back to school – my top tips for the new academic year is by DR GIANFRANCO CONTI. I’m adding it to The Best Resources For Planning The First Day Of School.

13 GRAMMAR GAMES AND ACTIVITIES FOR FUN LEARNING is from English Teaching 101. I’m adding it to The Best Ideas For Using Games In The ESL/EFL/ELL Classroom.

This is a great video from the British Council though, unfortunately, it’s only published on Facebook. Many schools block Facebook, so it couldn’t be shown to students in class (unless it was downloaded). The article it’s built from, however, could certainly be read by students – How to use books to learn a foreign language:

WexLang is an intriguing site that lets you upload texts to read alone or with others, and it includes the ability to translate the text.

First Week of School Activities with ELs at the Heart is by Valentina Gonzalez. I’m adding it to The Best Resources For Planning The First Day Of School.

EFL Classroom 2.0 is a great site that I’ve posted about countless times. Its founder, David Deubelbeiss is closing it down. But it’s not over! David has now opened up a new site called ELT Buzz.  David is great, and I’m sure his new site will be, too.

Creating a welcoming environment for ELs is by Tan Huynh. I’m adding it to The Best Resources About “Culturally Responsive Teaching” & “Culturally Sustaining Pedagogy” – Please Share More!

Games4ESL is a neat YouTube video with…videos that can be used as games. I’m adding it to The Best Ideas For Using Games In The ESL/EFL/ELL Classroom.

‘Why don’t you speak Spanish?’: For Julián Castro and millions of Latinos, the answer is not so simple is from The Washington Post. I’m adding it to The Best Resources Explaining Why We Need To Support The Home Language Of ELLs.

BeeLinguaApp is a neat reading app that shows texts side-by-side in two languages. Here are a few similar resources:

Parallel Texts Reader

Parallel Books

Alba Learning

Bilinguis

Parallel Text

 

A Culturally Responsive Guide to Fostering the Inclusion of Immigrant Origin Students is from Re-imagining Migration. I’m adding it to The Best Resources About “Culturally Responsive Teaching” & “Culturally Sustaining Pedagogy” – Please Share More!

The English Channel is a new site from The British Council and is filled with interactive videos.

Six collaborative games for competitive English language classrooms is from The British Council. I’m adding it to The Best Ideas For Using Games In The ESL/EFL/ELL Classroom.

5 ways to make PBL work in ELL is from SmartBrief. I’m adding it to The Best Sites For Cooperative Learning Ideas.

Station Rotation in World Language Classes is from Edutopia. I’m adding it to The Best Resources For Planning “Learning Stations” – Please Add More.

WHAT IMPACT WILL TRUMP ADMINISTRATION POLICIES HAVE ON FUTURE ELL NUMBERS? HERE IS MY GUESS, & I WOULD LOVE TO HEAR YOURS

A SIMPLE WAY I DIFFERENTIATE TPR (TOTAL PHYSICAL RESPONSE) LESSONS – DO YOU HAVE OTHER SUGGESTIONS?

ANOTHER STUDY FINDS SUPPORTING A STUDENT’S HOME LANGUAGE BENEFITS THEIR ENGLISH ACQUISITION

MY LATEST FAVORITE TECH TOOL FOR ELL STUDENTS TO PRACTICE SPEAKING

GUEST POST: WAYS TO CREATE A STUDENT-DRIVEN CLASS

HERE’S THE ADVICE I GAVE OUR ADVANCED ELL TEACHERS ON HOW TO PREPARE STUDENTS FOR WRITING ASSESSMENTS – WHAT CAN YOU ADD?

“EIGHT WAYS TO HELP ENGLISH LANGUAGE LEARNERS FEEL MOTIVATED TO READ & WRITE”

OUR AFTER-SCHOOL PEER TUTORING PROGRAM FOR ELLS – STUDENT HANDOUTS INCLUDED!

DO’S & DON’TS OF WORKING WITH AN AIDE IN AN ELL CLASSROOM – PLEASE ADD YOUR OWN SUGGESTIONS

HOW I’M MODIFYING THE PICTURE WORD INDUCTIVE MODEL ACTIVITY THIS YEAR

A LOOK BACK: WAYS A MAINSTREAM TEACHER CAN SUPPORT AN ELL NEWCOMER IN CLASS

WOW! WORDWALL LOOKS LIKE A GREAT – & FREE – SITE FOR CREATING ONLINE LEARNING GAMES

A LOOK BACK: THREE VIDEOS OF ENGLISH LANGUAGE LEARNERS GIVING ADVICE TO TEACHERS

“I SPY” ILLUSTRATIONS ARE GREAT FOR ELLS & HERE’S A COOL VIDEO EXPLAINING HOW THEY ARE MADE

“USA LEARNS,” ONE THE BEST ONLINE TOOLS FOR LEARNING ENGLISH, GETS EVEN BETTER!

“THREE WAYS TO END THE SCHOOL YEAR STRONG” IS MY LATEST BRITISH COUNCIL POST – LOTS OF STUDENT HAND-OUTS INCLUDED!

I CREATED A NEW FACEBOOK PAGE – FEEL FREE TO “LIKE” IT IF YOU WANT TO BE NOTIFIED OF NEW BLOG POSTS!

“KOLIBRI” IS A VERY INTRIGUING LEARNING APP

HERE’S THE AGENDA, INCLUDING RESOURCES SHARED, OF OUR SCHOOL’S ELL “PULL-OUT” DAY

“SPEECHLING” LOOKS LIKE A NICE SITE TO PRACTICE SPEAKING ENGLISH & OTHER LANGUAGES

“LEARN WITH NEWS” PROVIDES ARTICLES AT THREE LEXILE LEVELS