As regular readers know, students in all my classes complete anonymous evaluations of the class – and of me – at the end of each semester.  I always share the resorts – warts and all – with our school’s principal and on this blog.  You can see the many different forms I’ve used over the years and their results at Best Posts On Students Evaluating Classes (And Teachers).

I think telling students that I’ll be sharing the results in a blog post tends to make them take the activity a little more seriously, though it has also resulted in The Washington Post periodically picking-up the story.  For example, you might want to check out this Post story from last year: NEWS BREAK (not breaking news): Teacher asks students to grade him. One wrote: ‘I give Mr. Ferlazzo an A at being annoying.’

I always learn a lot from the evaluations, and they’ve definitely made me a better teacher.

It’s the end of the semester this week, and here is the downloadable version of the form I’ll be using in my ELL Beginners class.

It’s a fairly simple one, and it’s designed to also help students acquire some new language.

Let me know how you think I can make it better!