I’ve recently added a ton of new online video games that I think are excellent language development activities.    They’re all near the bottom of the Word Games category on my English For Intermediate/Advanced page, but many are also suitable for High Beginners.

All the games I’ve linked to have simple English text.  Most are “role-playing” games, where the player has to respond to instructions or, even better, make characters in the game respond to the player.  Quite a few have both audio and text.

I will continue to highlight many of them individually in the coming weeks and months.  Today, though, I’d like to single-out three exceptional games which have audio and text, and the player has to use fairly complex thinking skills to solve a crime.

The two are Agent Scarecrow , Move or Die, and Detective Hearst.  They are both mixed in with the rest of the games on my site.