YAKIToME seems almost to good to be true for English Language Learners. It lets you copy and paste pretty much anything you want and the convert the text to speech.

You can choose the type of voice (it uses ATT technology, which I’ve had a link on my website to for a longtime because it’s so good), the rate of speed (there are numerous settings), and even customize pronunciation for certain words. You choose to see the text when you’re listening to it being spoken. And you can create private groups if you want.

Most importantly, unlike some other well-intentioned similar applications I’ve posted about it, it seems to work without any technical difficulties. Plus, it’s free.

I have a number of text-to-speech links displayed at the top of several of the pages on my website, and will add the YAKIToMe link there.