I’m going to prepare a future “The Best…” list on The Best Places To Find Free (And Good) Lesson Plans On The Internet.

I’ve been less-than-impressed with a lot of what I see out there. I’m looking for sources of consistently good lesson ideas, and they don’t necessarily have to be in the form of step-by-step formal plans.

They don’t have to be focused on English Language Learners, either,  since good teachers can modify good lesson ideas.  Of course, sources of lessons specifically for ELL’s are welcome, too.

And I’m particularly interested in sites that try to identify lessons that promote higher-order thinking and don’t just “take the easy way out.”

Two places that immediately come to mind for me are The New York Times Learning Network and Teaching Tolerance.

All contributors, and their suggestions,  will be credited in the post.

Please leave your recommendations in the comments section of this post by February 1st.