Obviously, photos can be great educational tools with English Language Learners and with any students (see The Best Ways To Use Photos In Lessons). I post about many photo galleries, also called slideshows. To do it in a little more organized way, though, I recently began this weekly feature called “Photo Galleries Of The Week.” This post is a “round-up” of online slideshows I’m adding to various “The Best…” lists:

Daily life in May around the world is a series of photos from The Sacramento Bee. I’m adding it both to The Best Sites For Learning About The World’s Different Cultures and to The Best Websites For Learning & Teaching Geography.

Even though I’m not thrilled at the BBC’s title for this slideshow, World’s weirdest festivals, I’m still adding it to The Best Sites For Learning About The World’s Different Cultures.

Thousands flee ‘ethnic cleansing’ in disputed Abyei region of Sudan is a series of photos from MSNBC. I’m adding it to The Best Sites For Learning About The Vote In Southern Sudan.

A Trip Around Our Solar System is a series of photos from The Atlantic. I’m adding it to The Best Images Taken In Space.

Top 15 happiest nations: Who’s #1? is a slideshow from CBS News. I’m adding it to The Best Sites To Learn About…Happiness?

Great moments of scientific discovery is a nice slideshow from Popular Science.