Common Core ELL Assessment Will Be Developed by Wisc. Consortium is the headline at Ed Week’s Learning The Language blog reporting that the Department of Education has awarded $10.5 to a group of 28 states led by Wisconsin to develop a uniform language assessment for English Language Learners.

This effort should not be confused with the larger initiative to develop a next generation of standardized tests for the general student population which, coincidentally, is the topic of my next Ed Week column.

I’m a bit surprised that the DOE didn’t split the money between the two consortia, like they did with the groups developing tests for general student population. The group that lost was led by California, and I’m a little disappointed because I thought we might have been able to have a little influence on its development here. Oh well.

I’m adding this post to The Best Resources For Learning About The “Next Generation” Of State Testing.