I often write about research studies from various field and how they can be applied to the classroom. I write individual posts about ones that I think are especially significant, and will continue to do so. However, so many studies are published that it’s hard to keep up. So I’ve started writing a “round-up” of some of them each week or every other week as a regular feature:

Problem-Based Learning in K-12 Education: Is It Effective and How Does It Achieve Its Effects? is a new study highlighting the effectiveness of Problem-Based Learning. Unfortunately, the link will only allow you to access the abstract and you have to pay to see the full report. I’m adding it to The Best Sites For Cooperative Learning Ideas.

Newsweek recently ran long article on people lack of self-control in spending and saving. It provides a readable overview of research on self-control, though most of it won’t be new to readers of this blog or my books. It did share information on something that most of us in the classroom know already from our experience, but I hadn’t seen research on it before: reducing anxiety increases self-control. I’m adding this info both to The Best Resources For Learning About Teens & Stress and to My Best Posts About Helping Students Develop Their Capacity For Self-Control.

The Secret Code Of Learning: Our body language can reveal more about what we know than our verbal language is by Annie Murphy Paul at TIME and provides a good overview of research on the topic. I’m adding it to The Best Resources On Students Using Gestures & Physical Movement To Help With Learning.

After a Good Night’s Sleep Brain Cells Are Ready to Learn is from The National Institutes of Health. I’m adding it to The Best Resources For Helping Teens Learn About The Importance Of Sleep.