'November 21st - December 16th, 2011' photo (c) 2011, SEE TEFL - license: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0/

I’ve started a somewhat regular feature where I share a few posts and resources from around the Web related to ESL/EFL or to language in general that have caught my attention:

Understanding Language from Stanford has just released a number of resources for ELLs and the Math Common Core Standards. I’m adding them to The Best Resources For Learning About Common Core Standards & English Language Learners.

Colorin Colorado has posted about additional math common core resources, and I’m adding them to the same list.

Image Quizzes is a very helpful post from Life Of A Perpetually Disorganized Teacher. I’m adding it to The Best Online Tools For Using Photos In Lessons.

Vicki Hollet will be hosting the next ELT Blog Carnival, and the focus will be on teaching English with videos. Learn more, and contribute a post, here.

I must have my head stuck in the sand, because I had never heard of “A General Service List: the most important words for second language learners of English” until Wendi Pillars sent a tweet about a new version of it. It looks pretty useful, particularly the interactive exercises on Quizlet.

Using Video in the Classroom is from ELT Experiences. I’m adding it to The Best Popular Movies/TV Shows For ESL/EFL (& How To Use Them).

The ESL Movie Making Project has extensive resources on how to help students make movies as part of a language-learning experience.

Language Magazine is a great resource for ELL teachers, and they have many of their articles available free online.