'Tie Straightened' photo (c) 2006, glindsay65 - license: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nd/2.0/

I’ve worn a sport coat and tie everyday during my ten year teaching career (except for when we go on field trips to San Francisco and to Yosemite), and have explained my rationale for doing so in previous posts that have garnered many comments (I’ll link to them later in this post).

Recently, the topic of teacher attire has been in the news lately, and I thought it would be useful for me to bring those new articles together in one “The Best” list, along with my past ones. I hope you’ll share your own comments….

First, here are the new ones:


Ofsted launches new clampdown on scruffy teachers
is from The Telegraph.

Teachers condemned for being too scruffy – report is from The Telegraph.

Do Clothes Make the Teacher? is by Walt Gardner at Education Week.

Now, here are my posts — and you definitely want to check out the comments left on them, too:

A Question On Teacher Attire

Can An Educator’s Clothes Affect How He/She Teaches?

Study: Appearances Matter

Teachers, T-Shirts & The Messages That They Send

Teachers Should Dress As Students’ Advocate, Not ‘Peer’ is one of my Education Week Teacher posts. In Part One of a two-part series, four educators – Roxanna Elden, Renee Moore, Jane Fung, and Rebecca Mieliwocki – share their thoughts on how teachers should dress.

What doctors wear really does matter, study finds is from Science Daily.

DO STUDENTS VIEW “FORMALLY DRESSED” TEACHERS AS HAVING MORE EXPERTISE?

Let me know what you think….