'magnifying glass' photo (c) 2005, Tall Chris - license: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/

I often write about research studies from various fields and how they can be applied to the classroom. I write individual posts about ones that I think are especially significant, and will continue to do so. However, so many studies are published that it’s hard to keep up. So I’ve started writing a “round-up” of some of them each week or every other week as a regular feature.

By the way, you might also be interested in My Best Posts On New Research Studies In 2013 and My Best Posts On New Research Studies In 2014 – So Far.

Here are some new useful studies (and related resources):

iPads In Special Ed: What Does The Research Say? is from NPR. I’m adding it to The Best Research Available On The Use Of Technology In Schools.

Sleep after learning strengthens connections between brain cells and enhances memory is from Science Daily. I’m adding it to The Best Resources For Helping Teens Learn About The Importance Of Sleep.

We all know that students learn more effectively if they can connect new information to prior knowledge. How the brain builds on prior knowledge is a report on a new study that saw how different parts of the brain actually do it.

What’s Lost as Handwriting Fades is from The New York Times. I’m adding it to The Best Resources For Learning About Handwriting & Learning.

A Learning Secret: Don’t Take Notes with a Laptop is from Scientific American. I’m adding it to the same list.

Feeling Impulsive? Head for the Forest is from The Pacific Standard. It reports on a study finding that people seeing pictures of nature increased their self-control. Maybe an idea for classroom decorations? I’m adding it to The Best Posts About Helping Students Develop Their Capacity For Self-Control.