'magnifying glass' photo (c) 2005, Tall Chris - license: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/

I often write about research studies from various fields and how they can be applied to the classroom. I write individual posts about ones that I think are especially significant, and will continue to do so. However, so many studies are published that it’s hard to keep up. So I’ve started writing a “round-up” of some of them each week or every other week as a regular feature.

By the way, you might also be interested in My Best Posts On New Research Studies In 2013 and My Best Posts On New Research Studies In 2014 – So Far.

Here are some new useful studies (and related resources):

Dispelling the Myth of Deferred Gratification is by Alfie Kohn and appeared in Ed Week. I’m adding it to My Best Posts About Helping Students Develop Their Capacity For Self-Control.

A Feeling of Control: How America Can Finally Learn to Deal With Its Impulses is a very interesting piece from The Pacific Standard. I’m adding it to the same list.

Keeping 9th Graders on Track Can Move Grad Rate, Research Finds is also from Ed Week.

Report: Technology benefits at-risk students is from Ed Source. I’m adding it to The Best Research Available On The Use Of Technology In Schools.

‘Grit’ May Not Spur Creative Success, Scholars Say is from Ed Week. I’m adding it to The Best Resources For Learning About “Grit.”