webby

The nominees for this year’s Webby Awards have just been announced. Unfortunately, they’ve made it a little confusing about how to access all of them, but if you search a bit you can find a dropdown menu that will then look like the above screenshot.

As usual, I’ve already posted about some of them but, as usual, there are ones new to me, too. I do an annual post on those ones.

Here are this year’s highlights:

Fifty Years of Tobacco Control is a good interactive from the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation. I’m adding it to The Best Sites For ELL’s To Learn About The Dangers Of Smoking.

Wonderville is a neat-looking science site for kids.

The Sunni-Shia Divide is a lengthy article from the Council on Foreign Relations, but it has lots of good interactives, and is very helpful for a World History class like mine for ELLs.

Mathigon looks like a cool math site, though I can’t really understand it.

NASA has a site entirely devoted to climate change. I’m adding it to The Best Sites To Learn About Climate Change.

Spacecraft For All is a site monitoring a…spacecraft that is generating data that web users can access.

Refugee Republic is an interactive about a refugee camp. I’m adding it to The Best Sites For Learning About World Refugee Day.