toolkit

Last year I briefly referred to a study done in the United Kingdom evaluating what teaching strategies work best.

A recent post by John Tomsett prompted me to revisit that meta-analysis from The Education Endowment Foundation, and it’s clearly worth exploring deeply (it’s official title is “The Teaching and Learning Toolkit).

The report provides a John Hattie-like list of various interventions, along with their costs, the quality of evidence supporting each one, and the number of learning months research has showed it to gain for students. Though I say it’s Hattie-like, some of its findings seem to conflict with his. I’m very impressed with the UK analysis, and am planning on digging into it over the summer.

In fact, if you haven’t checked it out already, I’d say it should be a must-read over the summer for just about every educator.