Here are some articles from this week which speak to the present hysteria about refugees.

I’m adding this post to The Best Sites For Learning About World Refugee Day, and I’ll also be adding some of the individual articles to other “Best” lists:

For Japanese-Americans, Resistance to Syrian Refugees Recalls Long-Ago Fears is from The New York Times. Here’s an excerpt:

This-week-Yuka-Yasui

I’m adding this article to The Best Resources On Japanese Internment In World War II.

Anne Frank and her family were also denied entry as refugees to the U.S. is from The Washington Post. Here’s an excerpt:

Otto-Franks-efforts-to

I’m adding it to The Best Sites To Learn About Anne Frank.

Syrian and Iraqi refugees seek freedoms cherished by all Americans is from The Washington Post.

Here is an excerpt:

I-write-this-as-a

I plan on have students read this piece and respond to this writing prompt:

How does Khalil Tawil suggest the United States should respond to refugees? To what extent do you agree or disagree with what he believes? To support your position, be sure to include specific examples drawn from your own experience, your observations of others, or any of your readings.

I’m adding this resource to The Best Posts On Writing Instruction, where you can find links to multiple writing prompts.