The-Best-Resources-On

This particular “Best” list is a new “annual” one.

I have regularly published The Best Articles (And Blog Posts) Offering Practical Advice & Resources To Teachers lists, and will continue to do so.

However, this year I’ve begun publishing a regular Classroom Instruction Resources Of The Week post. I thought, because of that new feature, it made sense to just publish a list highlighting the best from that series, in addition to the regular “Practical Advice” one. That latter list will include many other resources.

I’m adding this list to All My 2015 “Best” Lists In One Place.

Here are my choices for The Best Resources On Class Instruction – 2015:

Document Analysis Worksheets are very useful student handouts from The National Archives. I’m adding the site to The Best & Most Useful Free Student Hand-Outs Available Online.

Jim Bentley, who’s definitely worth following on Twitter, shared this gem from the University of Oklahoma – it’s an interactive of instructional strategies.

Skills and Strategies | Annotating to Engage, Analyze, Connect and Create is a great new resource from The New York Times Learning Network. I’m adding it to Best Applications For Annotating Websites.

Common Core in Action: 10 Visual Literacy Strategies is by Todd Finley at Edutopia. I’m adding it to The Best Resources On Close Reading Paintings, Photos & Videos.

Before, During and After: Strategies From Our News Q’s Feature for Reading Nonfiction is from The New York Times Learning Network. I’m adding it to The Best Resources On “Close Reading” — Help Me Find More.

Hochman’s ‘But, Because, So’ Sentence Expansion Activity is from Doug Lemov. I’m adding it to The Best Posts On Writing Instruction.

How to Survive in the Era of Personalized Education is by A.J. Juliani. I’m adding it to The Best Resources For Understanding “Personalized Learning.”

Back to School with Annotation: 10 Ways to Annotate with Students is by Jeremy Dean. Unfortunately, I don’t remember who originally shared it on Twitter. I’m adding it to The Best Applications For Annotating Websites.

Three Teacher-Tested Ways to Encourage Your Students to Follow Current Events This School Year is from The New York Times Learning Network. I’m adding it to The Best News/Current Events Websites For English Language Learners.

A First Day of School Activity that Teaches Argument, Which Teaches Thinking (Updated) is from Dave Stuart Jr. I’m adding it to The Best Resources For Planning The First Day Of School.

Writing Next: Effective Strategies to Improve Writing of Adolescents in Middle and High Schools is a very useful report suggested to me by reader Marie. I’m adding it to The Best Posts On Writing Instruction.

Here’s a great piece about how to make primary resources accessible to struggling readers.

Adventures with gallery critique is by Andy Tharby. I’m adding it to The Best Posts On Writing Instruction.

In Why a simple 30-year-old chart is an ingenious teaching tool today, Alfie Kohn makes some good and important points about K-W-L charts.

How I Learned Differentiation appeared in Teach Thought, and is excellent. I’m adding it to The Best Resources On Differentiating Instruction.