8468293074

I’ve previously posted research finding that students having an “authentic audience” – someone other than their teacher or classmates – can have a positive impact on learning (see Another Study Points To The Importance Of Students Writing For An Authentic Audience and Do You Know Of Research Showing That Writing For An “Authentic Audience” Helps Students Feel Motivated?).

I’ve also shared places where students can do just that online at The Best Places Where Students Can Write For An “Authentic Audience” and The Best Places Where Students Can Create Online Learning/Teaching Objects For An “Authentic Audience.”

I’ve also shared how my students find authentic audiences in our Geography class (see Links To The Joint Projects My ELL Geography Class Did With Classes Around The World – Want To Join Us This Year?).

A new study has come out where a science teacher used Twitter to connect to that kind of audience.

Transforming teaching with Twitter is a Science Daily summary of the research.

Here’s an excerpt:

The-paper-in-Middle

Let me know if you know of additional research finding the importance of this kind of “authentic audience.”